loving my new camera

I don’t think I’ve been this excited about a camera since I bought the 1D Mark III a few years back. At the time it was pretty revolutionary, 10FPS, dual processors, the whole works. Up to that point the 1Ds Mark II’s and III’s were way out of my price range. At about $6,000.00 to $8,000.00 (for the 1DsIII) it was way out of my price range.
Finally about 2 years ago, the 1DsII’s price dropped to the point where mere mortals like myself could afford one, so I’ve been shooting with dual combo of 1DIII for speed and high ISO, and 1DsII for slower, more portrait type shots.

The big problem with the 1DsII was the battery system. It still used NiMH and battery accuracy was pretty weak, so I would always carry 3 or more expensive battery packs to a shoot. That gets old pretty fast if you’re doing larger events and have to lug around more heavy equipment.

Also, the safe ISO range I would feel comfortable shooting with the 1DsII was about 800-1000, and if I felt lucky..I would go 1200.

With the 1DsIII, I can now go higher without much fear, and the battery systems are now in sync. I know, at the cost of a 1DsIII, one could easily pick up a 5Dii or even a 5DIII. But I think I’m accustomed to the size, build, and quality of the EOS bodies. I used to own two 5D classics, and they were good, but it wasn’t the same. Yes, the newer 5D’s now can have ridiculous ISO’s and do video, and have faster UDMA card speeds, but I think the 1Ds was just still always the dream camera that I had always wanted but was never able to afford. Now that I have one, I guess one could say I somewhat feel accomplished. I’m glad I’m in a position to even be able to afford it now, despite being 5 year old tech. It’s still ground breaking tech. Heck, even my old 8.2MP 1DII can hang with the best of them today, so I have no problem using older tech. It’s not the tools, it’s the carpenter =)

https://vimeo.com/65121144

Posted on May 3, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

