What I want to be when I grow up

I’ve always dreaded that scary question they ask when you were a kid, and you really don’t quite know yet, so you spout of careers that seemed interesting to you at the time. For instance I wanted to be a cop, then I watched paramedics shows back then so I wanted to be a doctor, or a paramedic. Somewhere along the way school came along, and as a first generation Vietnamese kid, I struggled more to try to somewhat fit in the world, and just holding on every day. But there was never that one defining moment, where you just just get this epiphany. “This is what I want do do with my life”, and then pursue it.

I guess I fit somewhere in between, where I’m luck I never really had a goal or path. I thought I did, but the roads forked many times along the journey. Some people are so myopic in their journey, when life throws curveballs, they don’t quite know how to deal with the reality of the situation. But it is the people that just knew, that this is what they want to do, and have a passion for doing it, so they pursued it with a fervor and succeed in attaining their goals.

That’s not to say the people that don’t end up doing what they want are failures, it’s just sometimes it isn’t in the cards. Whether it be external factors, or finances that prevent us from attaining what it is that we want to do.

So far I’ve been in my current career for about 10 years now. There’s still a lot for me to learn, but lately I’ve been meandering and fantasizing about other options. More towards the creative outlets. More specifically, Photography or film. But I want to dabble in cars and driving as well. Sooo much to do, so little time!

My latest little projects is to try to do short vids for parents as keepsakes for their kids/children. My proof of concepts seemed feasible. About 1-2hrs of editing, and 1hr of shooting. Three hours in total for roughly a 2 minute short film. I had a blast, and when I had a good shot, I had this giant grin on my face. There was no other joy at the time, and I just felt giddy. So in a sense, maybe I’ve started to move towards my calling, of “what I want to be when I grow up”.

Or maybe I’m second guessing myself and it’s just a fad, but I’m going to start gearing this blog more towards filming, and my explorations into the art form. Doing reviews, or video reviews, etc. But there are some short film concepts I have in my head that I want to work on. I just need to figure out how to get it from the brain onto film!

It has occurred to me, I’ve been filming in reverse. Typically my process is a) have a general idea of what I want to shoot. Then go to the environment and do everything on the fly, then piece it together to make a story at the end, relying on a good 40% of luck or basically sometimes have my shots dictate the story or flow. Then I find music to match and then render the final piece.

I think I’m going to try the real approach, which is to include more structure into the process. Making a vision/plan, a treatment, shot lists, things that will take me to the next level from 2 minute shorts to 5minutes and beyond.

About greenbeanfx

Photography is what I do =) If you wish to contact for a photoshoot, send me an email or comment on a blog with your info and I'll get back

Posted on September 6, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

