Graduation day is near

Death is the graduation ceremony, while living is just a long course in learning and preparing for the next journey.

-The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying

The anniversary of my father’s passing is almost here. It has almost been one year. I must admit, it’s gone by pretty quickly. Not a single day goes by that some random event in life reminds me of him. To celebrate life, and his passing, my mom and getting an RV, and taking a tour around the country (sort of speak). My mom and my cousin the RV and are traveling across the country. I’m taking 3 days off of work (5 days including weekends) to join her during the first leg of her trip, and flying back in Colorado. I think it’ll be fun. I’m looking forward to just relaxing, and taking pictures, living in the moment.

Speaking of living in the moment, a friend of mine’s dad recently passed away from Cancer. At his funeral, I think took home one valuable lesson. Celebrate life, and during the course of your own journey, treat everyone equally, whether they be a pauper or a king. Because you can’t escape the laws of physics. –What goes up, must always come down– and when you’re on your way down. If you treated people with dignity, respect, and integrity all throughout your journey…then you will be rewarded, and your life will be enriched. I’ve only met her dad two times, but am thankful that he has taught me this lesson.

I must admit, back in the day, I used to be a complete egotistical jerk. (ok, don’t laugh, a lot of people still think I am one! lol) I had a huge chip on my shoulder, with an elitist attitude towards everyone. We thought we were untouchable, and were better than everyone else. Thankfully, age, experience, and going through life has tempered that, and I think I’m way more humble, and way more self deprecating than ever. (My wife may disagree lol), but in all seriousness I’m not the same person I was 15 years ago, and I think hopefully I’m headed towards the path for the better. I don’t judge people as much anymore. (Note I say ‘as much’, as I’d be lying to you if I said I didn’t). I’m the first to admit I’m not perfect.

Despite everything, I think I’ve come a long way since I first started this blog three years ago. I had just received news that my dad just received a death sentence. I think I did lose a little bit of myself, but that part of my soul that became empty is no finally start to heal. I’m more accepting. More forgiving. And filled with more compassion towards everyone than ever before.

With that I’ll share this nifty little tune from SIXX A.M. titled “Life is Beautiful”.

“Life is Beautiful”
I was waiting for my hearse
What came next was so much worse
It took a funeral to make me feel alive

Just open your eyes
Just open your eyes
And see that life is beautiful.
Will you swear on your life,
That no one will cry at my funeral?

About greenbeanfx

Photography is what I do =) If you wish to contact for a photoshoot, send me an email or comment on a blog with your info and I'll get back

Posted on April 29, 2011, in Game Of Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

