Sweet Peas and Birthdays! Oh My!

I’ve had an eventful weekend. After visiting my mom, I decided to come home and thought it was time clean and organize the garage. It was always my dad’s domain, so it was cathartic and fascinating all rolled into one. I think the only thing I regret, is not asking him what half of the specialized tools that he had, even does! But I could really tell he came from the era where everything was saved. I’ve heard stories of the generation of people that went through the depression and it seems somewhat similar. Lets just say, he kept every nail, every spark plug that he ever changed (and trust me, it’s a lot!).

I didn’t realize his passing had affected me as much as it did at a sub conscious level. Every picture I look at, every item that passes in front of me, registers a tiny blip in my head. “This item, this photo, this memory…took place before my dad’s passing. This item, this event, took place after. It’s as if my world literally split into two parts, and everything is judged from that point in time. It’s very odd. I know to some level I do it, so I guess it falls more under the realm of conscious thought, rather than unconscious. Anyways, I thought that was interesting. I’m sure I’m not the only one that does this, after the death of a loved one.

At any rate, so this weekend I booked two photo shoots! Well, thankfully they weren’t back to back, so I had time to take a 30 minute nap in between. It’s funny, after dealing with super long weddings, two kid’s photo shoots lasting 2hrs total would be a breeze right?! WROOONG! Kids are hard work. Wowzers. But I had a blast! They totally made me feel young again!

The two shoots were completely distinct, both requiring two entirely different sets of gear. One was outdoors, in the bright sun. I’ve been there before so I knew what I was getting into. Two bodies, 1DsII and 1DIII. With an 85mm for the portraits, 70-200 for different perspective portraits, and the 24-70 to finish it off with any needs for wide, or regular portrait shots. I left the 35L at home.

VE1Z1061-72

VE1Z0981-62

GBFX3402-32

VE1Z1093-77

VE1Z1218-94

For the second shoot, I knew I just needed to straight up go with a low light setup. I researched the place online, and it was an indoors environment. The lighting was from fluorescent sources on the ceiling, and I wasn’t sure if there would be huge windows. Basically, I was walking into the unknown, so when walking into the unknown, I always assume the worse. 35mm 1.4, 85mm 1.2, and I even brought a 14mm 2.8 in case it was really tight. 70-200 in the event I would be stationary and required reach. Shooting at IS0’s ranging from 1000 to 1600, and I even brought along a flash, just in case I get requests for group shots. So yes, the second one was definitely more gear intensive. I ended up switching out the 35 with the 24-70 a lot. Going back and forth, on a full frame camera, because I needed the low light capabilities, yet, In some situations, I needed the wider 24mm. I couldn’t afford to take off the 85mm because for portraits, that is king, and I didn’t want to miss out on any random kid’s moments that just screamed portrait.

VE1Z1480-196

VE1Z1330-147

GBFX3520-1

GBFX3603-36

VE1Z1356-157

VE1Z1460-188
My fav shot. I love his expression. Like, “why am I stuck here up to my neck? haha”

VE1Z1500-206

After my last photo shoot with kids, where I just pretty much lost their attention from ducks and other wildlife (I swear taking pics of a group of kids is like herding cats or turtles). But I decided to strap my stuffed animals to the top of my lenses.

38237_1498921985918_1020191439_1413701_8250320_n

It worked like a charm! They were sooo interested in the orange star fish! I think I’ll try to find a cookie monster or an Elmo to strap in for future shoots.

But the shot that got to me the most was this one.
GBFX3419-35

My process is after I take all my photos I lay them out and do my selections. I noticed that this was a really cool shot, but since it was rushed I had it slightly out of focus so it ended up being blurry. But I wanted to use it so badly because it just had a shot of a father and daughter, so I thought of the first poem/thoughts emotions that came to my head when seeing this photo, and this came to mind:

blurry

As a parent, you want to hold onto your child’s hands for as long as you can.
As a child, you can’t want to grow up to find yourself.
As you carve your own path into the world, you begin to realize how safe, and comforting it is to be in the guided by the arms of your father.

It’s been so long since he has been gone. Your memories begin to blur…The smells begin to fade. Praying to meet again in dreams, where the blurriness disappears, if only for a second, you are once again nestled back into the comforting, loving arms of dad.

So that’s that! It’s been awhile since I blogged. Been feeling slightly out of it, but I’m trying to get myself back into the game.

About greenbeanfx

Photography is what I do =) If you wish to contact for a photoshoot, send me an email or comment on a blog with your info and I'll get back

Posted on August 6, 2010, in Aperature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

