W00t! 76 years old

Yup today’s my dad’s birthday. It was a pretty small gathering, my mom didn’t want to invite many people because she didn’t want them to make a big fuss out of it. Very typical mom. We had a shabu shabu style dinner, and his older sister was there (My dad’s the youngest in the family).

I didn’t get a chance to take too many photos, I really regret not bringing my little video camera. But I think I’ll bring that along next time I’m over there. This was a shot before we said a prayer prior to dinner. It was really strange, normally he says it, but since he wasn’t up to it energy wise, his sister gave it. And I thought to myself, man that’s odd…normally dad does it. Anyways, I think everyone there (except for the little kids because frankly they’re just oblivious to the problems of the world. aahhh to be young again) was just silently grateful that my dad is still with us and is here to celebrate his 76th birthday. Just a few months ago we just didn’t think he would make it.
gbfx-4

Here’s a shot of him cutting the cake.
gbfx-9

He’s in a wheelchair and moves around that way, but it sure beats laying in a hospital bed. After wards he laid there in his bed, and sorta started up at the ceiling, rather contemplatively. I asked what he was thinking about, but he just wouldn’t tell me. He just said that he’s 76, by God’s grace he’s still around right now, and was just silent, as if contemplating the alternative. So I left it at that. I think it was a bittersweet, somber + joyous occasion. Blasts, with my new diet I stayed away from the red meats and went for more of the veggies!

About greenbeanfx

Photography is what I do =) If you wish to contact for a photoshoot, send me an email or comment on a blog with your info and I'll get back

Posted on March 19, 2009, in Game Of Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

