Mr. Toads Wild Ride

It has most definitely been an interesting few days. They transferred my dad out of Fountain Valley Hospital to a separate hospital. Now, bless their souls there are some really nice workers there who do care a lot. But the facilities are just run down. You can the air isn’t as fresh, and you can totally tell the equipment is just much older. The gloves, pumps, etc. The first night they put my dad next to a guy that had some major coughing and pain issues so he was moaning all night long, which freaked him out. So I for the past few days, I was spending the night there by his bedside, taking care of him, cleaning/changing him etc. It’s interesting, you know how they say you’re born small and young, then grow up to be an adult, then eventually you’ll revert back to a baby state. That’s totally true, he’s just fragile and now when he smiles, I think it’s what parents feel when their baby first smiles. Just a bundle of warm fuzzy butterflies gushing all over yer tummy. But see, we take smiles for granted. Everyone smiles…but I guess when someone close to you was came back from near death. Every additional smile means soo much more. Though technically, it’s still the same smile as it ever was!
Anyways, long story short, they transferred him back to Fountain Valley Hospital today where they added another bag to his gall bladder to drain it. They thought he wasn’t draining fluids very well in that area and it may lead to some infections. So with that said, he has a G-Tube, jp tube, colostomy bag, and a drain. Talk about the poster boy for getting checked up for colon cancer at the age of 40! But I’m home now, I can sleep well knowing that he’s in good hands in a cleaner facility. Not sure when they’ll transfer him back to the other place, but I’ll be there for him if he does!

What was cool though was this morning after my late night shift, I took a walk to my old neighborhood. Motgomery Wards, the donut shop, all those places that I loved to visit when I was a kid was replaced by Target, a beauty saloon, and a school. But walking through the area did bring back very good memories of me riding my bike around, or looking at the Transformers at those department stores. I encourage everyone to walk through the neighborhood that they grew up in, at least once every 10yrs. It’s refreshing to walk those footsteps again, to experience where you’ve been, where you are now, and hopefully get some insight as to where you’re going to be. I walked past my old house, and I had to do a few double takes, because It’s changed so much, but it’s most definitely my old house. And walking down the street I remember my friend Camarak’s place, and my best friend (in 2nd grade) Jeremy’s place. Is it me, or things seemed soo big and large back in the day. I go back to these houses now and realize they’re tiny. But I guess the world is a huge place when your’ 8yrs old.

Tomorrow I’m going to do something fun! Taking some pictures and doing some harsh light, bright sunlight photography tutoring. I really haven’t taking pics for a long while, and I think I’m very much looking forward to it.

About greenbeanfx

Photography is what I do =) If you wish to contact for a photoshoot, send me an email or comment on a blog with your info and I'll get back

Posted on February 1, 2009, in Game Of Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

