can’t a man get a break?!

so today yet, another infection. Well potentially two. E-coli tested positive for one area, and they were doing pet and ct scans for another because they suspect something is a brewing in his thoracic region. One of the nurses had the gall to ask my mom and say that she could reject treatment, and let the patient just end the suffering..to which she said no way. If I can we can do anything in our power to help, then we will do so. But tonight when I went to visit her, she did choke up at times. We picked out a photo of him, just in case, and my mom said she’s going to pick out a suit as well. I helped pick out a photo, but reminded her that it’s waay too early, and dad will pull through, so enough of this nonsense. But you know moms, always planning…always prepared. So today was a bit emotionally draining. I stayed there till past midnight again, helping out where I can. He is lucid now and I requested they at least remove his restraints (at least while I was present). But after I left, the nurse thought that she didn’t need to restrain him again. Being back to 1mg of morphine per hour probably helps out a lot in the ‘confusion’ department.
Physically, though week, he seems fine and was able to hold my hand many times throughout the night. He said that I should go home, but I told him I was afraid if I left they’d restrain his hands again and he said ‘cam on’ (which translates to thank you) in Vietnamese. I think that’s when I choked up. Told him he never has to thank me, it should be me that thanked him…and I couldn’t finish my sentence….I really wanted to thank him for teaching me so much. And for driving me to all the way up to USC every week, and doing all the things that Dad’s do. Never got past ,’thank you’ though. But yeah…man….some light at the end of the tunnel would be a little nice. We’re going to wait a few days to get more test results to see where this will end up. A different set of antibiotics to treat the e-coli is already in play, and really what comes down to is this abnormality in the chest area. Arrrrggggggg… I just want him home.

About greenbeanfx

Photography is what I do =) If you wish to contact for a photoshoot, send me an email or comment on a blog with your info and I'll get back

Posted on January 23, 2009, in Game Of Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Imagine all the things that our parents have done for us where we didn’t utter the words “cam on” like teaching us about fair play in the game of life, driving over 2 hours each way to bring us vietnamese food while we were away at college because they knew we would miss home cooking, and telling us that they love us when we are confronted with failure.

    Keep your chin up Nghia!

    “Other things may change us, but we start and end with the family.” – Anthony Brandt

  2. hah, you too huh? my dad only drove up about 1hr (maybe 2 with LA traffic) to get me food. But heh my mom would make like 3-4 days worth and freeze it so it was like homemade tv dinner asian food style. =P

  3. Great! Thank you very much!
    I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?
    Of course, I will add backlink?

    Sincerely, Timur Alhimenkov

  4. sure, be my guest to take part of it in yer blog

Leave a Reply

