different way of thinking

Well I recently stumbled upon a gig….well actually I really wanted to do it so I made a few concessions because it intrigued me, so I did some more work chasing after it. It would be my first same sex Jewish + Asian wedding. I was interested because I think it can be a great opportunity to shoot those events as I’ve never done one before. However, I don’t know the first thing about Jewish wedding ceremonies. Except for the fact that there’s a bottle that’s thrown on the ground and it gets smashed to itty bitty pieces. Though I think there’s a towel or something over the bottle so it’s not like I can get really cool glass smashing action shots. To be honest the prospect of failure does come to mind. That’s probably why I was so interested in doing it. Because it’s new and I think I really need something to stretch me creatively. I haven’t the slightest idea how to portray same sex couples. All I’ve done are hm…how do I put it. Opposite sex couples?

But really, I think my game plan will be the same. If I get to know the subjects, and if I could just bring it down to the emotions and capture what it is that they feel for each other, I’ll pretty much nail the wedding. If I try to think about it too much, I may very well screw it up. What’s also a bit scary is I’ll be doing most of it solo. In trying to cut costs I’ve offered to shoot without an 2nd shooter/assistant. Though, maybe I may just offer my niece 50 bucks to help carry cameras around.
I have Grant there for an hour for the ceremony. I did make it clear that I don’t like doing the actual ceremony alone because I can’t be in 2 places at once, and if I get trapped in a bad location, I’m done for. But for the rest of the time, I’ll be pretty much alone, so I’m considering using 3 camera bodies and that way I won’t have to switch lenses much at all.

But I mean, it’s just different in a sense. Normally the bride gets my attention as she’s the more important person to take the picture of in a given event. Now that it’s split 50% 50%, it’s a completely new way I have to think. Oh it’s all so fascinating. Tomorrow I’m gong to do a quick engagement shoot just to warm them up to me and the camera. Usually what I do anyways as ice breakers. Nothing more fun than meeting your photographer with big fat lenses for the first time on your wedding day. Lets just say, the ‘deer in headlights’ look isn’t very good for me, nor the couple.

Afterwards I’m off to my parents place. I haven’t seen them all week and miss them. My mom has the flu so she didn’t want me to come over and get me sick. “My dad was so sweet, my mom told me he said, just have him come over! he doesn’t have to see you =) Otherwise during the weekend he may be busy and can’t make it so we’ll never get to see him”

About greenbeanfx

Photography is what I do =) If you wish to contact for a photoshoot, send me an email or comment on a blog with your info and I'll get back

Posted on August 16, 2008, in Aperature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Jewish-Asian same sex wedding? Well way to jump right in there Green Bean. Saw the above shots with the couple, nice. I like the way you look at it and the way you describe how it will be different with 2 grooms. Now imagine 2 brides! You’d probably need two assistants for that.

  2. When I get to 2 brides, I’ll let you know. I think it’ll be a nightmare. That’s double the makeup time. Double the dress time. oye. I’ll let you know if and when I get that gig, but I think 2 guys would be infinitely more easier.
    But yeah even with 2 brides, who do I go with?! I’ll just have to insist they both get ready together in the same room. bruhaha

Leave a Reply

