studio photography

Up till now, I hated studio work. I had always thought they were bland excercies of aim and shoot. However, I watched this documentary this week on Timothy Greenfield-Sanders and his studio work and it was quite interesting. As with many things, studio work is much more than meets the eye, and it’s much more difficult than it appears. The notion of getting a subject into a small 10-12 foot space and then come out with a visually appealing, lighted, usable image can be quite daunting. I’ve avoided it thus far, but after watching this documentary, I was compelled to give it a shot. To this point I always thought that everything within the studio was so contrived. But realize that portrait work, or posed work was pretty important even in event and wedding photography. So next month I’m going to tackle it. I plan to start simple. Not a big fan of the ostentatious backdrops, I’m going to just focus on simple white, and start strobes for lighting, and using volunteers. I’d like to try hot lights, but they’re quite expensive, so I’ll tackle that later when I get paid the big bucks for my work. Which I think I can achieve within the next five years. Looking back, my first wedding I did a few years back, using a XT, 10D, 20D combo, and charged a paltry 1000 dollars. Now my standard package is 3.5k to 4k. I’ve achieved one of my first goals awhile back, which was to have someone…anyone…pay for my work! Next goal for me would be to do some product work or commissioned work, where images can fetch hundreds if not thousands of dollars. It may seem very distant now, but then again, a few years back I didn’t think I’d be where I am today, especially for someone with absolutely zero film training. Which sucks, I think I would like to take courses one of these days to get a bit more formal training under my belt, or work/assist someone.

About greenbeanfx

Photography is what I do =) If you wish to contact for a photoshoot, send me an email or comment on a blog with your info and I'll get back

Posted on June 23, 2008, in Aperature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

